CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout of the Day
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout of the Day Questions & performance regarding CrossFit's WOD

Old 01-29-2010, 10:14 PM   #1
Zach Price

Profile:
King Kong

So I'm relatively new to crossfit (four months) and have a goal of finishing King Kong. My max dead lift is 415, HSPU's are decent enough, haven't done a dead hang muscle up, and my squat cleans aren't near what King Kong calls for either. Prognosis:
So I made up "Baby Kong"
3 rounds of:
1-3-5 reps of 295 DL, toe assist MU, HSPU, and 60lb dumbbell squat clean
so go through the one reps, then the 3's, then the 5's
rest 2 and 1/2 minutes. Then repeat two more rounds.
I know its strange and might not even constitute as "crossfit" but this WO tests me on all levels (done it 3 times so far didn't record my times). I do not recommend it to others I just wanted to hear thoughts and maybe suggestions for a better way to train for this workout rather than just scaling it. What else I love about King Kong is the respect I have for the different exercises involved that I want to develop (especially getting my first strict muscle up).
preciate it,
Zach
Old 01-30-2010, 06:25 PM   #2
Doug Blankenship

Profile:
Re: King Kong

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach Price View Post
I know its strange and might not even constitute as "crossfit" but this WO tests me on all levels (done it 3 times so far didn't record my times).
Don't worry about it being a CF WOD or following a CF protocol.

Quote:
I do not recommend it to others I just wanted to hear thoughts and maybe suggestions for a better way to train for this workout rather than just scaling it. What else I love about King Kong is the respect I have for the different exercises involved that I want to develop (especially getting my first strict muscle up).