CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 04-02-2005, 10:20 AM   #1
Adam Burella

Profile:
I'm a university student from Ontario, Canada and I just wanted to stop in and say hi. I've been lurking for awhile on this message board and finally decided to give crossfit a shot. I've been doing abbreviated full-body programs for several years doing compound movements and olympic lifts. I also tried to add in sprint intervals for cardio but it always was the first to go when I got busy.

I like to read about the science behind training and from the first time I came across this website I thought it was a great concept. I'm having a hard time giving up the regular progression and concentration in strength movements but I definitely need to increase my fitness (not just my strength). The first two WODs kicked my ***.

I look forward to conversing with everyone here. There seems to be a ton of knowledge and maturity on this board.
Old 04-02-2005, 12:03 PM   #2
William Hunter

Profile:
Welcome Adam.

You'll find Crossfit's approach so varied that it will, in short order, expose your weaknesses. You can then work your weaknesses in addition to the WOD, or tailor the WOD to allow you bring your weak areas up to speed. For example, my biggest weakness is lack of pure strength. Whenever weights are called for, I tend to slow down a bit so that I can lift an amount as close to Rx'ed as possible. I GTG some heavy lifts on the side. The only WOD's I'm not blown out of the water are the 5k's and 10k's (just partially blown out of the water).

Enjoy!
Old 04-02-2005, 01:35 PM   #3
Steven Stackpole

Profile:
Hey Adam
I'm from Ottawa, and have just finished my 3rd month on crossfit.
You'll get all your questions answered here.
Enjoy
Steveo
Old 04-02-2005, 02:27 PM   #4
Adam Burella

Profile: