CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 01-18-2012, 06:52 AM   #1
Ron Thurston

Profile:
Thumbs up My CrossFit Experience so far

I figured I'd throw my story up here as an introduction on the forums and maybe someone who is on the fence about jumping into CrossFit will be inspired to go for it.

For starters, let me describe my normal routine prior to CrossFit. I have always been "active". I was involved in Martial Arts since I was young (GoJu Ryu, Aikido and Krav Maga recently). I grew up playing sports (mainly baseball as a catcher and soccer as a goalie) which carried over into HS and beyond. I was a catcher from the time I was 6 all the way up through HS. I was a goalie in soccer for both outdoor and indoor teams. I played indoor up until the time I was in my late 20's. I started playing slow pitch softball when I was 18 and I still play to this day (I'm now 37).

I am a mechanical engineer by trade so I do a whole lot of sitting around in an office. I was also a pretty avid online gamer which put me in front of a computer for hours on end at night. I have 5 children (ages 15 to 5) who are all very active in sports. We have practice for something 5 nights a week just about all year. I am married to a wonderful woman who works at night (6pm to 6am) so 3-4 days out of the week, all the transportation is my task.

Now that all the background info is done, let's get into some stats prior to starting Crossfit in September.

Height: 6'-0"
Weight: 298 lbs

My diet at the time was maybe one big meal a day (dinner). I would sometimes grab something from Dunkin' Donuts' before work and maybe something from Wawa for lunch if I felt like driving. Most of the time I was just too lazy to go out.