CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 04-06-2003, 08:18 PM   #1
TJ Cooper

Profile:  
i recently read an article that reviewed the anaerobic power performance of female firefighters. The review itself was interesting in that the final results showed the bulk of firefighter needs were anerobic, BUT the same test showed the level of anerobic needs were "unknown "at this time. Did i miss something ? How can the research show a need and not identify the need at the same time. can any firefighter assist me in this ?
Old 04-08-2003, 12:06 PM   #2
Matt Cullen

Profile:

Hi TJ,

I hope I can help with your question. I am a Physical training Instructor in the British Fire service. Could'nt really understand what you need to know. If you want U can contact me on my email, let me know

Matt.
Old 04-08-2003, 06:44 PM   #3
David Wood

Profile:

TJ:

I haven't seen the article in question, but I'm willing to bet that they were behaving (and writing) like typical academics . . . basically, they weren't going to commit to *anything* unless they were absolutely certain of it.

So, their "analysis" probably showed that the nature of firefighting (actually putting out real fires) is predominantly and/or fundamentally ANaerobic. (Well, duh . . .)

Meanwhile, the standard exercise prescription given by the medical profession to almost everyone (including firefighters) is: "Run 3-4 miles 3 to 4 times per week" (fundamentally aerobic).

The authors were probably struck by the incompatibility of the standard prescription and the actual needs of firefighters. If they were, they're already 100% smarter than most medical and exercise "professionals".

But, I suspect, that's all they would be willing to say: "they're incompatible".