CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Testimonials
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Testimonials CrossFit's successes / your achievements

Old 07-16-2007, 06:41 AM   #1
Patrick Henry

Profile:
At 161 lb. and just 3 weeks into weighted pullups, I finally did my first +100 deadhang pullup! I ALMOST got 2 in one set, but I did manage to do 2 single reps with +100.

I was alternating single reps of push presses (with bodyweight) and pullups (single reps) with +60, +60, +70, +70, +80, +80, +90, +90, and then I went for the +100. I got the first one, and got eyes and nose above the bar on the second rep, then I went for 2 reps on a second +100 set with the same results.

I have NEVER done a +100 before. I am shooting for a 2x bodyweight pull by the end of the year.
Old 07-16-2007, 11:43 AM   #2
Roark Marsh

Profile:
Very impressive.

What are you using for the weight? I've had problems with both dip belts, and just straps whenever I get real heavy.
Old 07-16-2007, 01:57 PM   #3
Derek Maffett

Profile:
Good job. I am training for the one arm chin myself and that double bodyweight is not easy.

60 lbs to go! You and I are actually about the same there. I have about 45 or 50 to go. I have been thinking about putting up a competition for getting to the one arm chin and year's end sounds like a good goal. Want to try it?
Old 07-16-2007, 07:16 PM   #4
Derek Maffett

Profile:
Decided I might as well put it up now.

It's in competitions.
Old 07-16-2007, 07:24 PM   #5
George Mounce

Profile:
Congrats, I hope to get that some day!
Old 07-17-2007, 06:10 AM   #6
Patrick Henry

Profile:
I use the 100 lb dumbbell at my gym. After this, I will hang donut weights in addition to the DB. I have also seen people hang 45 lb. plates, as well as the necessary smaller plates.