CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 04-19-2008, 02:34 PM   #1
Christin Street

Profile:
"The Neurotic Zone" or "On Counting Walnuts"

So, I decided a week ago to give the Zone a try. I didn't want to lose weight since I'm 5'9", 138 and 12%bf last time I was dunked. What I had (and still have) hoped for was a way to increase my performance, get stronger, run faster, etc.

So after buying an gi-normous amount of eggs, milk, meat, nuts, fruits and veggies, I tried the Zone. I lasted for about 2 days. Pathetic, I know.

I felt so neurotic measuring and weighing everything. Counting walnuts?Forget it! All I thought about was FOOD, FOOD, FOOD and when/where/what my next meal would be. It reminded me of when I was a college freshman and tried to lose those "freshman 10" that I'd packed on from pizza, beer, and midnight munchies at the dorm. Back then we counted calories instead of blocks. We weighed and measured everything. Sure it worked, but it certainly wasn't a way to live long term. It was a quick fix.

I train hard damnit! Do I really have to deprive myself to be a more successful crossfitter? I'm not ruling the Zone out at this point. I just need testimony. Success stories. Failure stories. I'd love to hear your stats too if you don't mind (age, height, weight, bodyfat, if known). Before/after the Zone, or No Zone.
Old 04-19-2008, 03:00 PM   #2
Ivan Wolfe

Profile:
Re: "The Neurotic Zone" or "On Counting Walnuts"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christin Street View Post