CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 04-03-2006, 09:19 AM   #1
David Stegman

Profile:
I've been doing the WOD that I can with limited equipment and scaling some of them back for the past 3 months or so.

I'm seeing great results and I feel stronger than ever. I've been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for close to 9 years now and I can honestly say that I feel better on the mat now than I did when I was in my 20's. (I'm 33 now).

However, I've had a bit of a hard time psychologically with my body transformation! In the past I have been in a lot of different weight classes. I started out (long time ago) right around 200lbs. I lifted all the time and ate what I thought was good. LOL. I carried muscle but a lot of that weight lifter pudge.

I dropped down to around 185 to 190lbs for a long time. I didn't do any lifting or Crossfit then. Just trained jiu jitsu and ate "ok" but not great.

Since I started the Zone back in early Nov. and then Crossfit shortly thereafter I'm now a very lean 174-175lbs. Not totally sure what my BF% is but a I would guess it's under 10% or right at 10.

I'm a bit over 6'3" so at 175lbs I've had a hard time believing that I'm that "light". I don't feel "skinny" but I just can't get used to what I see when I step on the scales. I don't think I want to get more than 180 but I sure don't want to lose anymore! I'm not really complaining here...I just wanted to see if any others had a difficult time "mentally" when doing Crossfit/Zone?
Old 04-03-2006, 10:15 AM   #2
Andy Deas

Profile:
David,