CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 05-12-2009, 01:29 AM   #1
Matthew Wade

Profile:
Making the switch from training as hobby to training for pay...

For those of you that started training friends and family out of the garage/park:

I am currently working out in my garage and have been casually training a few friends and family. I plan to really make a business of it in the near future once my schedule frees up a bit (just finishing my degree, work crazy hours and have a family; buying a house,the usual nonsense) and I get the business end worked out. I am level 1 certified as well as Crossfit Kids and my degree is Exercise Science. I have recently been getting a lot of questions/interest from other people and many who want to come workout with us. I was thinking of starting a Saturday morning intro type class for free in a local park to let those who are interested see for themselves. I would even consider some random weekday workouts with those that want them, but they would be very random as my schedule is really sporatic right now.

So for those who have done similar things how did you actually make that transition from free workouts to paid workouts? Did you let those who were working out for free continue for free? How did you approach this? I would love to do some workouts for those who are showing an interest and don't mind doing a little training for free as I get things settled and set up but would like anyone's advice who may have already travelled this path.
Does anyone recommend not taking this route and just waiting until I am ready to start as a business? By the way I do have insurance as a trainer now and will be getting more as a business later.

Thanks in advance for any advice.