CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 05-06-2016, 06:03 AM   #1
Cindy Longhini

Profile:
Alternatives to TKR

I have been hearing that there are some new procedures that are alternatives to having a total knee replacement. Has anyone heard about any of these? I've looked on the internet, but haven't come up with much. One of the had something to do with minimally invasive placement of placental tissue in place of meniscus. Anything, anyone?
Old 05-12-2016, 04:03 PM   #2
Christopher Morris

Profile:
Re: Alternatives to TKR

Cindy,
It's been six days, so I don't know if this information will be timely, but here goes.

Also, Sean Rockett is on the forum here and an orthopedic doctor. You might try sending him a message directly.

I am a dentist, and got this story from one of my patients, so it's secondary information. He told me that he was recommended for TKR, and looked around for other opinions. He ended up having a procedure where belly fat was collected via a syringe. Stem cells were separated from this sample. The stem cells were injected into the knee joint space, and developed into cartilage. This is only an option if you still have cartilage in the joint. If you've worn down the joint so it is bone-on-bone, there is no starting point for the stem cells to be stimulated into cartilage cells. My patient said he was active the next day, and the recovery was SO much easier on him than a TKR.
Old 05-19-2016, 09:37 PM   #3
Sean Rockett

Profile: