CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 03-27-2007, 02:30 PM   #1
Kenny Dunsmore

Profile:
Hey everyone, I am 22 years old/M and started crossfit about two weeks ago. I have been an athlete my whole life (mostly football) and I am a full time personal trainer. I have always considered myself in "good" shape, but all of my previous programs had the sole focus on developing strength. Workouts such as push press 7x3 or front squats 7x1 are ones I am accustomed to, but I really struggle to keep up with the more challenging conditioning days such as fight gone bad. Any suggestions on how to bring up my metcon and tolerance to this more endurance based training??
Old 03-27-2007, 03:21 PM   #2
David Sailor

Profile:
Kenny,

Welcome.
First off all, if FGB was one of your first metcons, then you had an interesting indoctination. That is one of the hardest ones out there. The metcon will come, it's just a matter of doing them consistetly, just like you did the strengthing program earlier. The metcons are all measurable so you can track your improvement. I had a strength based background and the metcons absolutely killed me at first. They still kill me but I can measure the improvements such as comparing Cindy rounds, Helen times, etc. Good luck and just put the energy into the metcons like you do the strength workouts. David
Old 03-27-2007, 03:40 PM   #3
Kenny Dunsmore

Profile:
Thanks a lot David. I have done "cindy", "michael", and "FGB", i was o.k. with the first two, but man, fight gone bad humbled me in a way i could have never imagined. I was thinking of maybe adding some scaled down metcons following days like todays 7x1 front squat. Do you think this is overkill or a good way to whip myself into shape??
Old 03-27-2007, 05:00 PM   #4
David Sailor

Profile: