CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 09-23-2012, 05:11 PM   #1
James Georgiadis

Profile:
Smile Crossfit programming

Hi everyone,

I have been crossfitting for about 12 months now, but admittedly I have just been going with the flow doing WOD's whenever i feel like. Like a kid with candy, i cant help getting excited and doing 2 WODs in a day (before and after work) but i know this is probably a bad habit to get into.

I currently train anywhere from 8 - 10 sessions a week (twice daily) but i this is probably too much as i had some symptoms of overtraining. I took a 6 week break and now am itching to get back into it.

I plan on following the 3 on 1 off cycle as outlined in the CF training guide but had the following questions. I also need a lot of work on some skills (MU, HSPU, Clean, Snatch OHS, toes to bar just to name a few) to develop proper technique. I was hoping someone could answer the following questions.

1. Is it ok to do two sessions a day, for example a Metcon in the morning and a technique sessions in the afternoon. Or a stength lifting sessions and technique?

2. If i am doing a short but intense metcon, should i aim to supplement that with anything pre or post (not including warm up, cool down)

3. Any other hints/tips you could provide me?

My fitness goal is to be the best i can be, i would like to attempt the open next year to see how i go.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Jimmy
Old 09-23-2012, 05:26 PM   #2
Stefan Pavlovic

Profile:
Re: Crossfit programming

Try to google optimum anabolics body-building program and find the 8 factors explained in that program.So those are
Factor 1 Hyper Adaptive Cycling
Factor 2 Body part training frequency
Factor 3 Training session length
Factor 4 Exercise selection and form
Factor 5 Number of sets and repetitions