CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 06-02-2010, 11:05 AM   #1
Justin C. Howell

Profile:
Diet on a Budget

I was wanting some criticism of my diet. Please feel free to say what needs to be changed. Kind of on a budget and it seems like things are only going up in price. . 5'9 - 178. Want to lose some BF.

5 AM - Pre workout - Granola Bar
730 - 3 cups of skim milk - 1 cup of oatmeal
930 - 1 cup of cottage cheese/1 banana.
1200 - roughly 48 grams of protein from chicken, carrots, 1 pieces of bread
300 - 1/2 cup of soy nuts
500 - tuna salad.

I prefer to eat the same thing everyday, because of the ease.
Old 06-02-2010, 11:09 AM   #2
Frank Passalacqua

Profile:
Re: Diet on a Budget

I'm no expert but I def think you should ditch the granola bar, and all that dairy along with the banana. You want to feed the lean mass....but I can't fathom eating that small of an amount of food. Do some eggs in the morning and get some nuts for your fats, cut out all the grains. Should see an improvement. I know I did.
Old 06-02-2010, 11:12 AM   #3
Meghan Reid

Profile:

+1. Eat more, ditch the refined grains, ditch the dairy. If nothing else it should be full fat dairy. No soy. No sugar. More protein, more vegetables, MORE REAL WHOLE FOOD. Also, sorry to say it but variety is best. You can't eat the same exact thing every day and thrive. Make it work.

There are dozens and I mean DOZENS of threads on a) how to make a good diet convenient and b) how to clean up your diet. I really recommend you take a look at them. Anyone who has spent more than 5 minutes searching these boards would know that your diet is way less than optimal.

That being said, how are your strength/metcon numbers? Any interest in making those better or are you going for aesthetics?
Old 06-02-2010, 11:14 AM   #4