CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 02-15-2009, 08:46 AM   #1
Stephen Searcy

Profile:
Need advice on purchasing a bike...

Looking to find an entry level road bike for a couple of triathlons I'm doing this coming year. I want to get one for cheap, that can be used for a couple of years.

I found this one listed online and would love any feedback from those who know. I'm a novice to the specifics of what's good, bad or indifferent and want to make sure I'm waking a wise purchase. I think I may be able to get the owner down to $550 or so. I've checked a ton of reviews online and this bike has had a lot of positive feedback and sold new for around $1,000 to $1,400.

Who better to turn to for advice than this knowledgeable group?? Thanks for any help, advice, or recommendations.

Section: Bike
Type: For Sale
Item: 2007 Trek 1500
Price: $650.00 or best offer

Description:
Trek 1500--9 Speed Road Bike, 58cm. frame with 700 Bontrager wheels Mixed components with SRAM Force Crank and brakes/Shimano 105 rear derailleur. Just had it tuned. Less than 1000 miles.

Link to Picture
YOU MUST ENSURE YOU ANNOTATE ALL LINKS WHETHER WORK AND FAMILY SAFE.

Last edited by Lynne Pitts; 02-15-2009 at 10:35 PM..
Old 02-15-2009, 10:43 AM   #2
Frederik Beck

Profile:
Re: Need advice on purchasing a bike...

Looks good to me.
The main thing I'd worry about, when buying a used bike, is whether there is wear or damage ball bearings, crank, gear or other rotating parts. ANd of course if you feel comfortable. And there's really no other way to test it, but to try out the bike.