CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 07-01-2008, 09:44 AM   #1
Anthony Ronchi

Profile:
Decreasing Body Fat maintaining weight

I figure Ill go to the pros for this. My goal for crossfit has been to reach a level of athleticism and fitness I otherwise did not have. I own run a gymnastics and cheerleading facility. Ill start by saying that I have little to no prior experience in this sport aside from spectating. I was an avid lifter I w/o about 4-5 times a week. While I encountered large gains in strength It seemed to be rather irrelevant strength. Example One of my trainers a jr olympian would come every once in a while to my globo gym with me and workout. I took great pride in watching him suffer with weights (made me feel good to know I was stronger I guess) Well then he would do things like press handstands on the floor and the benches. Planches etc... I had been working out for 2 years now I could barely hold an Lsit. Thats when I confirmed yes I was bigger yes I was stronger No it was not functional. It was then I decided that their must be more I began doing all the gymnastics excersises compounded with my strength training with little result. About a month later while researching the p90x (one of my trainers is on and swears by he did lose about 7% bf at 37 yrs old hes 6% bf I believe so great results.) he would tell me about these compound seemingly unorthodox workouts, i wanted in. So I researched it and the infamous 300 workout and stumbled across a comment from a xfitter and I was like whats crossfit. Bam here I am in my third month. What a diff my posture is diff my energy is diff, my coordination is increased and my agility and stamina as well. I love where Im at. Heres my question yes im a zoner now too. As a strength t