CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 03-12-2008, 01:20 PM   #1
Matt Wright

Profile:
Starting Strength and Crossfit

Hi! I've been Crossfitting for a few months now. I just bought "Starting Strength" and I have a few questions about how I should go about using Coach Rippetoe's program. Right now I am continuing with the WOD's and practicing lifting form on squat, deadlift, press and clean for warmup while finishing I read the book.

My question is should I do a strict SS program for a month or two, or split it up by incorporating WOD's into my weekly schedule. I read somewhere on this site that a WOD,SS,WOD,Rest day, repeat schedule works well. My goal is to gain enough strength to complete the WOD's with the prescribed weights.

Thanks for the help, and thanks to Coach Glassman for this site!!

Last edited by Matt Wright : 03-12-2008 at 01:25 PM.
Old 03-12-2008, 01:27 PM   #2
Jamie J. Skibicki

Profile:
Re: Starting Strength and Crossfit

Matt,

I did about the same thing. Rippetoe suggests doing Starting Strength (SS) as prescribed. Then try adding in 1 metcon (you can search the Strength mill forums Q&A with Rippetoe for the metcon workouts he suggests). Then, if you're still making linear progression, add in a second day.

If you do some searches in the above forum, you will find alot more information about it, I would suggest looking there.
Old 03-12-2008, 07:29 PM   #3
Elliot Fuller

Profile:

The "WOD, SS, WOD" template is not an SS template. It's a MEBB (Black Box) template where you do 1 day of heavy lifting in every 3 day mini-cycle.