CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > CrossPit
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

CrossPit For discussing MMA, UFC, Pride fighting, and other martial arts

Old 01-21-2008, 02:45 PM   #1
Jason Watson

Profile:
My first MMA class!

One word comes to mind when thinking about my first MMA class. MANHANDLED!! Im 6'6 190, and I felt like a damn rag doll at times.

I also learned a couple of important lessons. Firstly it seems like the only way to condition yourself for grapling, and kickboxing, is to graple and box. Im still fairly new to crossfit, but I am verry dedicated, and I really thought that the CF training I have been doing would help to get me through an MMA session. WRONG! I was almost tottally gassed after my second round of wrestling. Then there was shadow boxing, more wrestling..etc.. I was discouraged, and frusterated with my conditioning. Also I found out that I have a weak *** NECK!! I realize now that that is a muscle group that really has to be worked in order to deal with the stress that head locks, and wrestling in general put on it.

Im feeling a bit discouraged right now, but Im going to be persistant, and see how it goes. Maybe I wasnt cut out for MMA, but im gonna find out, the hard way!
Old 01-21-2008, 03:04 PM   #2
Jason Lopez-Ota

Profile:
Re: My first MMA class!

Crossfit helps. You'll get better as time goes on. I haven't tried MMA, but I've tried BJJ and wrestling. Muay Thai next...

Last edited by Jason Lopez-Ota : 01-21-2008 at 03:13 PM.
Old 01-21-2008, 03:20 PM   #3
Derek Simonds

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Watson View Post
One word comes to mind when thinking about my first MMA class. MANHANDLED!! Im 6'6 190, and I felt like a damn rag doll at times.