CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 02-05-2014, 07:18 AM   #1
Robin Danek

Profile:
Muscle v.s. Fat Gain + Caloric Consumption Question

Hi, I'm totally new to this forum and wanted to jump in with a question.

I've been CrossFitting for over 2 years and recently noticed a slow increase in my weight (about 6-7 lbs) this past fall once I increased my training from 3 times a week to 4-5 times per week (+1 CF type WOD on my own). I would chalk this up to an increase in muscle but I scaled my caloric consumption down significantly from this summer when I was training for an ultra endurance event (RAIN-160 mile bike ride across Indiana) and thought that I adjusted for the decrease calorie burn.

In the past couple of weeks I have added some cycling workouts back in and my scale actually JUMPED a couple of pounds. I wear a heart rate monitor to help with my cycling workouts and I'm burning 1500-2000 calories per week now (during my training for RAIN I was burning 3000-3500 or more per week).

I eat a mostly clean paleo diet (i.e. only cream in my tea but otherwise no dairy, legumes, grains/gluten, or sugar). I have one beer on Friday and Saturday along with my two slightly off plan meals. I eat more vegetables than anyone else I know (I mean that), meat and a very small amount of fruit. I eat some starchy vegetables at breakfast and after I workout/cycle over lunch.

So here are my questions: 1) How can I be sure this is muscle gain over fat gain? 2) As my cycling season approaches how many more calories should I add into my diet as I burn more and more (I will cut CF down to 2-3 times per week and bike 3-4 with one rest day) and not gain weight?