CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 01-06-2010, 04:25 PM   #1
Jeffrey Cupra

Profile:
Patellofemoral syndrome

Yesterday the doc gave me this diagnose after 6 months of knee pain. Bumped my knee (how ironic) against the squat rack. After that my knee felt sore. Right on the patella it became swolen and that stayed till this day. After a X-Ray and a MRI he said that the patella was torn/cracked like a window which caused miss tracking of the patella

I'm no expert but do you guys think this could cause the problems? And what should I do now. Does this mean no SQ and DL for me?
Old 01-06-2010, 08:05 PM   #2
Steven Low

Profile:
Re: Patellofemoral syndrome

I wrote up some stuff for patellofemoral in sections 3 & 4 of this article:

wfs
http://www.eatmoveimprove.com/2009/1...-dysfunctions/

If you have trouble finding it, I'll post a summary.
Old 01-07-2010, 07:49 AM   #3
Jeffrey Cupra

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Low View Post
I wrote up some stuff for patellofemoral in sections 3 & 4 of this article:

wfs
http://www.eatmoveimprove.com/2009/1...-dysfunctions/

If you have trouble finding it, I'll post a summary.
Great info steve! But I still got a few questions left. Does it hurt when I SQ or DL while having this problem? I mean the clicking sound (dunno how to give it the right name) makes me feel a bit uncomfortable. Could this hurt the joint because if so I would stop right away.
Old 01-07-2010, 09:35 AM   #4
Sean Dunston

Profile:

Jeff-
I have PFS/chondromalacia... also had surgery to clean up a torn meniscus and remove a fatty deposit behind the patella last April.
The PFS/chondromalacia are still present.

For me, maintenance means improving my VMO strength.