CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 03-18-2006, 12:03 PM   #1
Dan Colson

Profile:
Can anyone clear up a debate, I think knees to elbows should be done hanging with nothing below you to stop you from swinging since thats the stomachs job. I have seen people tap a box etc each rep to control the swing, is that a foul or should you remain suspended?
Old 03-18-2006, 05:08 PM   #2
Josh Brehm

Profile:
Personally I think you're right, there shouldn't be anything under you to help you keep from swinging. Just my personal preference.
Old 03-19-2006, 12:49 PM   #3
Matt Early

Profile:
I am relatively new to Crossfit and I was going to attempt yesterdays wo today, but I was not sure how to do Knees to Elbows. After reading this thread I think its done from a pull up bar and I try to touch my knees to my elbows is that how it is done? Also, walking lunges do I hold dumbells, use a barbell or no weight? Thanks, Matt
Old 03-19-2006, 01:11 PM   #4
Dan Colson

Profile:
Knees to elbowshang from a pull-up bar and raise knees to touch the elbows, these can be modified by simply bringing the knees as high as you can. As a rule in CF unless weight is indicated you use your bodyweight. Check out the exercises link on the homepage.
Old 03-19-2006, 01:49 PM   #5
Mike Minium

Profile:
Matt,

Correct on the KTEs: touch your knee to your elbow (make sure you're not touching it to your upper arm, which is what happens as form starts to break down) while keeping your arm straight (elbow unbent).

For the walking lunges, don't use weight. Make sure the knee of the trail leg kisses the ground and get a nice long stride.

Mike

Old 03-19-2006, 03:40 PM   #6
Dan Colson

Profile:
Hey Mike, whats your thought on my original question of hanging vs tapping to prevent swing?
Old 03-19-2006, 06:22 PM   #7