CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 01-26-2009, 12:37 AM   #1
Wim Lokate

Profile:
Times to train MA

I am a martial artist and have tried everything to supplement my MA training.
I mean in the form off strenghttraining etc.
I have done all kind off so called bodybuilding routines etc. etc.
I even have tried Crossfit for a while but then I saw another srengthtraining routine I thought this one was the best because a so called famous MA-er used them to.
But that didnt work for me, maybay its my age, 48 years, that I dont like to do all these bodybuilder routines. Most off the time I ended up training more for strength than training my MA.
The great thing about Crossfit it that it is always different but the problem was that with some WODs I couldnt do it. For example when you have to do 100 pull-ups, so I stopped with the WOD's. But every time I come back to this because I like it still. Can I train MA after or before the WODs because training two time a day is to much for me?
How do you guys do that, I mean train the WODs and your MA (or other sports)?

And do you have to do the special warming-up or can you do just do another warming-up with jumping jacks orso because the warming-up takes a few minutes to?

Last question, in one workout there was walking 50 feet with a overhead barbell, how many steps is 50 feet?

Again, the important question is how do you guys incoperate your WOD's with your other training, in my case MA if you cant train two times a day and without training for hours a day?
Old 01-26-2009, 08:53 AM   #2
Steven Low

Profile:
Re: Times to train MA