CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 05-21-2008, 06:50 AM   #1
Carl Etheredge

Profile:
Knee Pain (inside, below kneecap)

After doing Michael a few WODs back, I developed sore knees. The center of the pain, with my knee bend at 90deg is just to the inside of the lower edge of the patella, and on top of what I would guess is the end of my tibia. I feel some minor discomfort when at rest and slightly more when doing air squats or walking. It is most noticeable at the extremes of range of motion. It does not hurt to fully flex my knees unless under load, but locking them hurts loaded or not. Also, it hurst to apply pressure to the inside of my knee, below the cap. The patella does not hurt, nor does anything above the joint.

I stared POSE running a couple of weeks ago, self taught through videos and drills from some links on the forum. That Michael was my first run of over 800m POSE style. I was feeling better enough to try a 400m run yesterday and that was not a good idea. I did the WOD from 5/19 today and the SDHPs did not seem to bother the knees at all. I was a little stiff during the OHSs in the warm up, but those were no more painful than just walking around.

I am planning not to run until this heals. Any ideas on what my problem is and how to prevent it from recurring?

Thanks,

Carl
Old 05-21-2008, 10:03 AM   #2
Steven Low

Profile:
Re: Knee Pain (inside, below kneecap)

Check to see if your patella is tracking right. Foam roll your ITB and stretch everything out.
Old 05-21-2008, 01:16 PM   #3
Carl Etheredge

Profile: