CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Starting (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Just getting started in South Carolina (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=88825)

Wade Walden 09-15-2015 05:09 AM

Just getting started in South Carolina

Hi all,
I am new to the iste after lurking for a while. I look forward to reading everyones posts as well as asking questions of you all. My first questions are;
Is there a daily WOD text service\App that I can register with?
Is there a consensus favorite beginner program?

A little bit about me :-)
-46 YO
-6'5" 250
-body building and power lifting for close to 25 years
-Really bad at cardio!!
-Workout at home with olympic free weights (No machines)
-Workout in the evenings after work due to early morning job hours
-Really bad about eating. You would think someone my size would eat a lot but strangely that is not the case. What I do eat is usually not good.

Any feedback is always welcome.

Thanks!
Wade

Matthew S Cooper 09-15-2015 08:33 AM

Re: Just getting started in South Carolina

Welcome!

With a background in powerlifting and bodybuilding, is it safe to assume you already have a pretty good handle on the basic barbell lifts (squat, deadlift, overhead press and bench press)?

If your strength and technique are pretty good on those lifts, then I would recommend following a program that addresses your weaker areas.

Let us in on a little more information and what your goals are so we can better help.

Wade Walden 09-15-2015 10:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matthew S Cooper (Post 1256828)
Welcome!

With a background in powerlifting and bodybuilding, is it safe to assume you already have a pretty good handle on the basic barbell lifts (squat, deadlift, overhead press and bench press)?

If your strength and technique are pretty good on those lifts, then I would recommend following a program that addresses your weaker areas.