CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Running a CrossFit Facility (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   How Does Anyone Afford CF? (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=32282)

clint reach 05-25-2008 02:14 PM

How Does Anyone Afford CF?

I could be way off here but after doing a little research it seems to me that CF affiliates charge a fee that only the well-off could possibly afford (which seems pretty "un-crossfit" to me). I've been doing CF for a couple years now and am kind of in a lull at the moment, needing some outside motivation to get me back into it. I found that places in this area (DC) as well as elsewhere are charging around $200/mo. Does that seem high to anyone else? Considering CF typically caters to military, police, fire, etc., I don't see how they could possibly afford those rates (I'm in the military). I went to another CF gym once and did a Cindy-type workout and was charged $20. I thought the guy was joking when he gave me the price. I was only there for a half hour tops. To me, buying all the gear and building your own gym is the only way to go but at the moment, that's not an option for me due to lack of space. I want to get others' take on this issue. What am I not getting here?

Steven Low 05-25-2008 02:19 PM

Re: How Does Anyone Afford CF?

Consider that personal training is like anywhere from $50-100 per session which is ~200/week. 200/mo. is actually quite cheap.

It does depend where you live though. DC metro does have a lot of people making "more" money than national average though.

If you're having problems with affordability talk to an affiliate owner and maybe you can work something out. Most offer discounts to military already though.

Randy Tarasevich 05-25-2008 03:03 PM

This issue has been visited before.

1. Cost of education, certification, insurance, lease, equipment, etc. Starting to get the picture yet.