PDA

View Full Version : Check my Clean please!

John P. S Shopa Jr
05-19-2007, 01:27 PM
Well I finally admitted to myself that i must one day do something other than power cleans...
Here is one of my first attempts with 95 pounds.
Any suggestions?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=330gChRr7zs

this is my first time with youtube so let me know if it doesnt work.

Scott Parker
05-20-2007, 11:40 AM
you are keeping your back rounded on the DL, which is a big no-no. maintain the lumbar curve, and you are "donkey-kicking" on the clean. also not sure, but are you doing a hang clean or a regular clean? if it's a hang clean looks like you are starting too low, if it's a regular clean from the ground link it up with the DL.

Scott Parker
05-20-2007, 11:44 AM
ok, watched it again. hang clean is what you are doing, just looks like you are dipping down kind of far. definately donkey-kicking, and when you are pulling it looks like the weight is far out in front of you because you aren't opening up your hips. open them up more when you pull.

John P. S Shopa Jr
05-20-2007, 12:02 PM
Okay, good advice. a couple of questions though for you if you will... I started "donkey kicking" after watching the video demonstrations with the coaches daughter. She seemed to have a very pronounced kick as she brought her stance wider to recieve the weight.
Am I coming up to high?
the rounded back on the deadlift is just my laziness. I was working with 95 pounds which is about a quarter of my max effort. I was just standing up with it, which is a bad habit, I know.
Lastly, by opening up my hips you mean pop them forward as my shoulders shrug up right?
I appreciate you time and advice.

Carrie Klumpar
05-20-2007, 12:20 PM