PDA

View Full Version : My body weight exersize videos

Bobby Gordon-Smith
01-03-2007, 03:30 PM
www.youtube.com/user/bobbyconditioning (http://www.youtube.com/user/bobbyconditioning)

hi.. i knwo im not as strong as a gymnast or climber but i have been working alot on body weight exersizes for the past 2 years and these are my vids.
i would apreciate any tips you could give or other exersizes to try.

my main goles are planche pushups and one arm handstand and one arm pullup (i can do one oap alredy)

any way thanks for the help

-----------------
bobby parkour/streetstunt vids www.youtube.com/user/bobbyatopk (http://www.youtube.com/user/bobbyatopk)

David Wood
01-03-2007, 06:17 PM
Hello Bobby, welcome to CrossFit!

I'm not much of a critic, and definitely not the guy to do much coaching . . . but what the heck, I'll pitch in.

On the pullups . . . 31 is a pretty decent number, but everyone here is going to complain that you weren't going all the way down (allow me to be the first :happy:). It looks like you're pretty limited by the doorway setup you have . . . you need a better place to do them, where you can stretch all the way down.

I'd also encourage you to switch the grip occasionally (overhand as well as underhand), and if you can find a good place, learn to "kip" (using body momentum to help drive you up). There are lots and lots of discussions and videos on the CrossFit website talking about kipping and why it's a good thing. I would imagine that you could get 50 or more pullups in the kipping style once you mastered it.

On the "pseudos" . . . not quite sure what they are? sort of body-forward pushup? maybe a partial step toward the planche pushup? looks hard.

The bar muscle-ups are pretty cool . . . you're actually doing a sort of kip right there (that same swinging motion is what is used in a kipping pullup). Again, you need a real bar and/or a place to hang rings, to learn the full muscle-up . . . I imagine you'd get them pretty quickly.