PDA

View Full Version : How is my Deadlift?

Mattie Rae Wilhelmsen
04-28-2006, 07:08 AM
I studied the slideshow available on crossfit and attempted to duplicate. Please let me know what I am doing right and wrong so I can move on.
Thanks!

Allen Yeh
04-28-2006, 07:27 AM
Mattie,

Here are the things I see:

Starting position: Seems a bit narrow for your, I would try to widen your stance a little more (a few inches). Your heels are coming off the floor, this is bad, throughout the deadlift you want to ensure that your feet stay flat on the floor. Shoulders seem good you want to keep your shoulders either above or behind the bar.

The lift: You seem to be letting the bar drift a little away from your body. Keeping your back arch is good.

Tips:
-Heels on the floor, heels on the floor and once again heels on the floor.
- Widen your stance a little bit, it seems that your stance is less than shoulder width.
- push your chin out like you want someone to punch you in the jaw
-Try to stick your chest out like a bodybuilder and at the same time try to squeeze your arms back so that they are tight against your back. If someone tried to put their finger in your armpit they would feel their finger being squeezed.
-If possible get plates taht are larger in diameter, or put the weights on something so that they start higher. The weights you are using are so small in diameter and forces you to start lower which IMO is harder to learn from.

So a few keys to remember:
Heels!
Put your chin out!
Break the finger!
Bodybuilder Chest!
Now lift.

Hope this helps.

Mattie Rae Wilhelmsen
04-28-2006, 07:30 AM
Shoot. those videos didn't work, did they. I guess they have to be .mov files, eh?

Try this link: http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=693152173&n =2 (http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=693152173&n=2)

Mattie Rae Wilhelmsen
04-28-2006, 07:32 AM
Wow! you're fast! Thanks!