PDA

View Full Version : Jason Erickson's Kipping Pullups

Lynne Pitts
03-31-2006, 01:52 AM
Jason couldn't get this to post, and is looking for some feedback:

Joe Marsh
03-31-2006, 11:44 AM
Jason,

I'm no expert, but that's pretty much how my brother and I look when we do kippers. I'm hoping it's right! Maybe Eva or Coach will take a look.

Jason Erickson
03-31-2006, 11:58 PM
Lynne - Thanks for posting the clip for me!

I am looking for whatever constructive criticism I can get on my kipping pullup form. I feel there is more that can be done to improve it and make the movement more efficient.

Thanks in advance to all who reply.

Garrett Smith
04-01-2006, 02:47 PM
Jason,
Looks pretty good to me. Mine feel to me as if they would look similar (I think, I have trouble seeing them :happy: ).

Do you have any initial feelings upon performing and watching your kipping pullups as to where improvements might be made?

Personally, I'm really having trouble regaining my ability to quickly cycle the kipping pullups over a higher number of repetitions. I get done with two or three and I'm out of sync. It's not that I don't have the strength to link more together, I can knock off 8-10 L-pullups in a row when I'm fresh!

My initial feeling is that my hands are too close together, not allowing enough room for a smooth forward/back rocking motion at the bottom, as I'm really trying to push away from the bar at the top (maybe too much?). I'm also out of practice and deconditioned for kipping pullups, having subbed body rows for so long. At least now I'm subbing L-pullups, that still won't help my kip though...:sad:

Not trying to hijack the thread, guess I just felt it was a semi-appropriate place to think out loud. Maybe it will help someone anyway.

Dan Snyder
04-02-2006, 12:39 PM