PDA

View Full Version : Clean critique

Bart Jones
01-05-2006, 09:17 PM
OK, I'll post what i think is going on here and then you can tell me what you think. The weight is 135 pounds. I am new to olympic lifting and noone who knows what they are doing has ever watched me. OK well, I feel like i have a pretty decent starting position. But then an early hip rise and early arm bend (I don't know )? Am I not extending enough or getting tall enough? Also, I feel like I am slow getting under the bar, and i catch it first and then squat down. What do you guys think? Thanks

Gabe Rinaldi
01-05-2006, 09:35 PM
I'd give you some feedback, but I can't get the link to open. It just opens as a bunch of mumbo jumbo as a text document. I'm using a mac with safari.

Andy Shirley
01-06-2006, 01:38 AM
Gabe,
Save-As, then rename it to *.avi, the boards tend to change file extensions to *.unk.

Bart Jones
01-06-2006, 01:40 AM
Hmmm, I tried the link on a different computer and it worked. Anyone else having problems, if so how can I fix it?

Lincoln Brigham
01-06-2006, 09:10 AM
I can view it okay. Gabe must not be holding his mouth right! :crazy:

A lot of good things, which I won't bore you with.

Bad things:
Early arm bend! Your punishment is a thousand jumping deadlift pulls with triple bodyweight. That'll straighten those arms out!

You're slow getting under the bar. More speed! The bar is crashing on you. Meet the bar sooner and lower. You are pulling too long - explode on the bar and get it over with so you can start getting under the bar quicker. Once you have gotten to full extension with the hips, knees and ankles (and with straight arms!) and have imparted sufficient momentum on the bar, stop pulling the bar up! Get under the bar. Instantaneous reversal of direction.

Ben Krey
01-06-2006, 10:17 AM