PDA

View Full Version : Kettlebell swing (modified)

Frank Menendez
01-15-2006, 11:50 AM
Are my arms supposed to be straight? I just realized they were bent... hmm...

This is a modified kettlebell swing using a dumbbell...

http://www.fmenendez.com/exercises/kettlebell.mov

Frank Menendez
01-18-2006, 04:32 PM
Am I correct when i say the biggest problem is simply the bent arms?

Lincoln Brigham
01-18-2006, 04:45 PM
I'm no kettlebell expert, but I'd say there wasn't nearly enough pop! in your hips. Extend them violently.

Rene Renteria
01-19-2006, 11:53 AM
Same issue as with the SDLHPs. As Lincoln and Jerry said, pop or explode those hips. Yes, straight arms. Your arms are like cables to which the weight is attached; the drive to get the weight up comes from your legs. With different amounts of hip drive, you can get the weight up to different heights, depending on where you want it to go (belly, eye level, 45 deg, overhead). To speed them up (like in Helen), you can drive the weight back down with your shoulders, if you're fit enough. (I'm not and can't keep that up for 21 swings--yet!)

Maybe do some medicine ball overhead throws for distance?

You seem to be controlling or limiting the weight's upward progress or momentum in both lifts. Tending toward static/slow instead of dynamic/speed/fast. What you want is to provide "upward momentum to the barbell", as Coach Burgener puts it in his videos, with your legs, "jumping" the bar or DB up (with drive "from the heels" (i.e., posterior chain) and not from the toes, of course).

Check out the first set of (very strong) thrusters in Anthony B.'s "Fran" video on this board. His feet move because both he and the weight are getting "weightless" as he jumps up. Most of the upward progress of the bar is from leg drive (the "push" part of "push-press") and not from pressing it.