PDA

View Full Version : DL Form Check

Rayne Gray
04-11-2008, 04:37 PM
He ya'll,

This is my first attempt at a DL 1rep max. I think my form looks good, but I would be grateful for some second opinions.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=6gwmNXiV2ZU WFS??

A couple of things I noted:

#1 I noticed my rear end raise slightly ahead of my torso on a couple of the lifts.

#2 When the weight got near max, I pulled and let it hit the deck from the top position. I do not know if this is considerd poor form, but I did not feel like lowering the weight:shrug:

Thanks in advance for your critique

Rayne

David Gessen
04-12-2008, 12:07 AM
I think you feet need to be closer to the bar.

Jason M Struck
04-12-2008, 08:46 AM
How tall are you?

you have long femurs and long arms, a lot is conspiring to make you a decent deadlifter, I suspect much more so than squatting.

You do raise your hips too quickly/too early. Otherwise, it's looking pretty good.

With some concentration you will pull 500 soon.

Justin Lascek
04-12-2008, 12:46 PM
Hey there big guy,

One thing to note is changing the camera angle. It's a bit out in front of you, and would be better to see perpendicular to the way you're facing to analyze the movement.

-Your chin should be level with the ground during the lift so that you aren't looking downward. You don't ever want to allow your spine to be in an unnatural positioning when lifting.

-You are definitely raising your hips and butt early in the movement. I think you would benefit from starting with your butt lower. With your size, this will probably mean bringing the bar closer to the shins and over the toes. You don't want the angle of your back to change until mid-thigh.