PDA

View Full Version : Clean and Jerk

Brian Schack
04-04-2008, 05:25 PM
I'm just getting started with CrossFit, and the only experience that I have is with weightlifting machines. I'm trying to learn the correct form so that I don't get hurt. I live in a small town, and I'm still looking for someone with the time and experience to help me.

Today, I practiced the clean and jerk for the first time took a video. Could you please tell me if I am doing it right? To download the videos, click on the links below, and then click where it says, "Save file to your PC: click here".

http://www.2shared.com/file/3093994/dcdbacfa/Front.html
http://www.2shared.com/file/3093996/32d5cdd6/Side.html

Thanks in advance.

male / 125 lbs / 19 years old / 5'4"

Elliot Fuller
04-04-2008, 09:27 PM
You're pretty far off (and this is coming from someone who has pretty terrible cleans himself, so I know the feeling).

So first off, great job on starting with just the bar. Might have even benefited from trying with PVC. Some people would have gone straight to 95# or more and ended up in a bit of trouble.

Secondly, what advice you do get from this thread, might not be very helpful, if you don't learn to spot and correct the most major errors on your own. There's always fine-tuning to be done, but without being aware of the major flaws on your own, it will be hard for your mind to really take control when it comes down to correcting the movement.

Now I'm not too great at coaching just yet, but I'll give this a whirl... maybe I can learn something from it too.

1.) Your starting position is off. It might be best to either rest the bar up on some blocks, to simulate the height of some training plates, or instead do Hang Squat Cleans so that you don't have to reach so far down to the floor to grab it. A higher starting position (with the bar) will also help fix the heavy rounding of the back that's going on.