PDA

View Full Version : My 2nd and 3rd Press to HS ever...

Alexander Kornishev
02-16-2008, 12:19 PM
That was my 2nd and 3rd successful attmept of doing press to HS... sort of... after 2 weeks of trying. Now I can see all my misteakes (which are many)... please comment.
f/w safe: Press to HS (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qVmfm6c9GaI)

Thanks!

Jesse Emers
02-16-2008, 01:04 PM
Try to start the movement closer to the ground... like from a full, deep squat. In my mind, a press to HS is supposed to incorporate the OH pressing movement like in a HSPU. On another note, GJ, that definitely takes some skills. I'm not going to comment on HS form (I'm sure Steven is up for it), I have no real background in gymnastics.

Brian Degenaro
02-16-2008, 01:18 PM
That is not bad at all for your first few times. My suggestion for your next press is look between your legs as you're lifting your hips, you won't arch over as much if any at all like you did those two times and it ought to help get those hips even higher.

Steven Low
02-16-2008, 11:19 PM
Start aiming for straddle (with straight legs).

Handstands do need some work to be straightened out.. aka push out the shoulders more and tighten up the abs some to get it straight.

That's a fairly good press though regardless of the criticism especially with straight arms. The bent leg hips up and then legs is characteristic of it you were trying to press a handstand on a chair or other odd surfaces to control it if you ever wanted to work towards that. :)

Blair Robert Lowe
02-17-2008, 04:13 AM
Alexander, I admire your patience for going slow in the press to handstand. And that you are a machine.

Honest questions? What do you think is your shoulder angle when raising your hands to the ceiling when standing. I'm thinking there is some closing of the shoulder angle and you have a challenge with shoulder flexibility. This is why you're arching a bit as well.

Jake Oleander
02-17-2008, 04:28 PM