PDA

View Full Version : Snatch curiosity

Brandon Oto
01-11-2008, 06:25 PM
Where did I go wrong here?

http://degreesofclarity.com/misc/crossfit/snatch_154_fail.mov wfs. This is at 154, my current PR.

Yeah, sure, arm bend, I know, but there's no shortage of height, so that's not it.

Is there a positional problem, or is there nothing more elaborate going on than I'm just soft at the catch and don't stabilize it sufficiently?

(You know your form needs work when you take three videos of three failures and you're doing different things wrong in all of them...)

Arden Cogar Jr.
01-11-2008, 07:10 PM
Brandon,
I'm not very good at them myself, but I do have a few comments.

1) the big thing I see in freezing the frames (I love quicktime because you can pause it and tap the bar and it freeze frame by frame) is that your not getting much drive from your legs - it's all back. Your hips don't change position through the 1st pull and really don't do that much in the second pull. I think you could benefit from having your hips a little lower at the start and working on using as much legs as you can during that first pull.

2) I also think you could have your chest out and your lats a little tighter at the bottom of the movement. You've got your shoulders ahead of the bar really well - but your back doesn't look good and tight - crush something between your lats and your triceps.

3) your elbows start to bend when the bar is at mid thigh. But your shoulders are really good and in front of the bar.

4) moreover, you get good full extension, you shrug tall even though you've already bent your elbows. I think that's good.

5) I thought the catch looked strong - it went back because the bar path was a bit a way from your body and you had to pull it back into you to catch it. I gotta say that you're third pull is impressive. I wish I had half that.