PDA

View Full Version : Split Jerks for the first time - need some coaching

Arden Cogar Jr.
01-10-2008, 02:49 PM
Hello All,
I've been working on my cleans and snatches, but I've never ever worked jerks or split jerks. I've been doing push presses for about 18 months now and I'm getting the hang of those.

In any event, today was the first time I've ever done split jerks from the proper rack position. I've tried them before with my elbows down like I'm going to do a military press, but never with the bar resting on my front delts as though I've performed a squat clean.

In any event, heres the wfs link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Zg-PJnSFY4

Started out with 95x3, 135x3 Then recorded 185x3, 225x2, 245x1, 265x1, and 285x1. I was pretty exited about it. Never did those before. I think I got a lot more left in me. But I want to make sure I'm doing them remotely right before I ever attempt to go any heavier.

Thanks in advance for the thoughts and input.

All the best,
Arden

01-10-2008, 03:21 PM
On shoulders = good. Elbows up all the way = not as good. Ideally, try to keep the bar racked on the shoulders WHILE dropping the elbows to bring the forearms as near to vertical as possible. You primarily need to have that solid connection of the bar to the torso through the shoulders, but you also want the arms in the best possible position to press since you'll be in effect pressing yourself under the bar.

In general, jerks look pretty good. You get a little forward leaning of the torso as you dip which increases considerably by the final rep. With that on a couple reps comes some sliding of the bar down/forward. Sink that bar deep into your throat - the closer it is to over your spine, the less torque and the less tendency there will be to lean or round forward in the dip.