PDA

View Full Version : Critique - Power Clean

Jeff Mouland
01-08-2008, 06:50 AM
Third time posting with my new cam appreciate any feedback, I have no background in O-Lifts so this is all self taught, areas of concern coupled with methods of correction would be great.

Power Clean Medium Weight (WFS) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XK0ipmDpAIY

Power Clean Heavy Weight (WFS) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PGOp_pmumuA

Power Clean Fail Weight (WFS) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hIYfEQCEFHU

Arden Cogar Jr.
01-08-2008, 08:48 AM
Good work Jeff.

Others are much more competent to comment on this exercise than me, but I'm learning.

My initial reactions are as follows:
1) the bar is too far away from your body throughout the entire movement - you need to keep the bar very very close.
2) because of the black top, It's hard to distinquish if your hips and shoulders are rising at the same time.
3) because of the block top, I can't really tell if your shoulders are in front of the bar at the start, at the new, and at mid thigh.

I noticed that you're actually catching the bar and you're having to step backwards. That's becaus the bar is too far away from your body and you're having to pull it back into you as you catch/receive it.

Use a lighter weight and really practice keeping it really close to your body. You'll see a big difference.

hope that helps a little.

All the best,
Arden

Jeff Mouland
01-08-2008, 09:10 AM
Good work Jeff.

Others are much more competent to comment on this exercise than me, but I'm learning.

My initial reactions are as follows:
1) the bar is too far away from your body throughout the entire movement - you need to keep the bar very very close.
2) because of the black top, It's hard to distinquish if your hips and shoulders are rising at the same time.
3) because of the block top, I can't really tell if your shoulders are in front of the bar at the start, at the new, and at mid thigh.