PDA

View Full Version : Clean

Conrad Schaefer
12-05-2007, 01:07 PM
Can I please get some coaching on my cleans. This is the first time I tried to go "heavy". Thanks to all in advance.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0U7jtcYHHs

w/f/s

Leonid Soubbotine
12-05-2007, 01:18 PM
Hey Conrad!

Be more agressive, jump the bar up.

Work the rack position - elbows up nice and high - curling forearms slightly in helps a ton with racking.

Arden Cogar Jr.
12-05-2007, 01:27 PM
Can I please get some coaching on my cleans. This is the first time I tried to go "heavy". Thanks to all in advance.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0U7jtcYHHs

w/f/s

Conrad,
Let me start off by saying I'm a complete Novice with Olympic lifts, but I'm learning.

My first reaction was nice flexibility. You're very lose in the hips and legs. Good stuff.

From a critical eye, if I have one at this stage, is your elbows aren't getting high enough. It doesn't seem to affect you, but I've understood that once you get under maximal loads you may run the risk of bashing your elbows on your knees. Get them higher if you can.

Second, I think you're not getting enough at the top of the triple extension - shoulders. You're jumping nice, but it seems like you're cutting that second pull (the pull from the knees to as high as you can go before the third pull (pulling yourself under the bar)) short. I think you could shrug the weight higher before going into the third pull.

I can't really indentify the bar path from the video. On your next one, put the camera so we get a complete profile view. That will show how you're moving the bar on your body. Or your body around the bar.

Good work. I'll defer to others, but the elbows and the quick shrug before the third pull is what I'm seeing could be worked on at this stage. But I'm questioning my own knowledge. But I'm really enjoying learning as much as I can.

all the best,
Arden

Peter Terry Haas
12-05-2007, 03:30 PM