PDA

View Full Version : Shoulder Injury - Dropped OHS

Erik Davis
07-11-2005, 07:06 PM
So basically, this is my first time doing Overhead Squats and my balance needs alot of work. The bar I was using is a cheap 25lb bar instead of the wider olympic so I cant get as wide of a grip as I guess I might need, but anyways after a few reps I just lose balance and I drop it, but keep holding on. My right shoulder seems to be the only thing that has taken a hit. I have a prior rotator cuff injury about 5-6 years ago (im 19). It seems like I have full motion of the shoulder and the pain has mostly subsided, but it hurt like hell for about 5 minutes (I got dizzy and had to lay down, ringing in ears, etc) and the worst part was I heard some sort of grinding noise as it was dropping.

Any ideas what the hell happened? I dont think i dislocated it since I can move it all over, but I happen to have a freakishly large ROM in my shoulders and so I am not sure if that would have anything to do with it (if my arms were longer and my legs were shorter I could literally jump rope by holding my hands together).

I appreciate any info you guys can give me, and if it is still feeling weird in a few days I will definitely go see a doc. Damn, bodybuilding-style workouts really messed me up.

Veronica Carpenter
07-11-2005, 10:14 PM
Erik, you need to learn to drop the bar if you are losing your balance. It's hard to say what happened without seeing what you did, but, a narrow grip in the OHS with the bar in position just behind the plane of your ears, requires a lot of shoulder flexibility. Since you said you have plenty of flexibility there, I'm guessing trying to save/catch the bar when you're losing it is what caused your pain.

Hope you've iced it and some anti-inflamatories won't hurt. I'd definitely have it checked especially since you've had a prior injury in the RC.

Lynne Pitts
07-12-2005, 12:38 AM
Erik
1) welcome
2) see a doc sooner than later
3) no f-words on the board.

Erik Davis