PDA

View Full Version : Getting sick all the time

Jason Berger
06-25-2005, 09:57 AM
I get sick ALL the time now that I try to mix weightlifting/WODs/external fitness whatever with martial arts. I'm eating a restricted calorie diet, hoping to lose weight, but it's healthy, paleo food, and I supplement with vitamins.

I'm a student so I can sleep 8-10 hours a night.

I am somewhat stressed, but nothing like I used to be a few years ago.

Lately I've been getting sick every three weeks, followed by a week and a half of recovery. I rarely get a chance to do anything any more.

This didn't happen before I resumed martial arts and only lifted weights.

Scott Shafer
06-25-2005, 03:48 PM
Start by upping your calories. Your body is sending you a message...

Brendan Melville
06-25-2005, 03:59 PM
I used to be in that situation--multiple years of a depressed immune system--and every spring starting around february, I would have ear infections, colds, you name it for like 5 months. It wasn't until I ate good sized paleo foods with no junk that my body really switched into gear and fixed itself. I say most sicknesses are solvable by dietary changes. So go with Scott's advice.

Janet Fisher
06-26-2005, 10:35 PM
This might be wayyyy off base, but have you checked your house for allergens like dust mites or hidden black mold, cigarette smoke from neighbouring appartments, etc?

I ask, because I was getting sick every month (or more often) for the last 2 years. Apart from colds, GI problems, and fatigue, I had chronic neck/shoulder/back tension. When I moved my neck, it sounded like Rice Crispies. I was convinced I was developing fibromyalgia. However, I just found out last month it's been caused by chronic sinus infections, lowering my immune system and making me susceptible to the other stuff. Antibiotics (cefadroxil) took away the chronic tension and stiffness within 3 days. Within 6 days, I had energy that I haven't had in ages.