PDA

View Full Version : Advice for knee exercises

Daniel Overvoll
02-09-2005, 06:09 AM
Hello to all. I've been doing XFIT for about 2 months now and seeing a great difference. I started in bad shape and am moving toward whole lifestyle change. Don't want to say more until I'm in this for 6 months or more, then will post changes.

Doc says I need to build up the muscle at the bottom of my quads on the inside of the leg above the kneecap. My kneecaps are a little higher than some people and have a tendency to "Maltrack". He suggested laying off running for a few weeks and hammer the bike to build up that "biker's muscle". He also prescribed some VMO's and told me to stay away from squats.

I find air squats and Tabata squats have HELPED my ROM and knee function, as well as deadlifts and weighted squats/thrusters (I never have knee pain after them). Stay away or what?

Any good exercises to build this muscle besides the bike? If this will help I want to look like BATMAN to keep good knee health.

Your help is sincerely appreciated.

Best,

DanO

Brian Hand
02-09-2005, 06:45 AM
Daniel, for me nothing makes the teardrop of the quad, the vastus medialis oblique (VMO), work harder than full front squats, but any full squat builds the VMO, including bodyweight squats. I am a little skeptical abut relying on the bike to correct this. If by "VMOs" you are referring to the simple straight legged quad flexing isometric exercise, that may help build up better nerve control of that muscle. Until the nerves are firing the VMO, you're spinning your wheels (no pun intended). The reviled leg extention, a poor choice for building real strength, can be useful for getting the nerves firing too. Once it's firing, deep squats are the solution.

William Hunter
02-09-2005, 08:38 AM