PDA

View Full Version : Disc Injury - Death Sentence, Please Help!

Graham Dean
11-17-2004, 08:41 AM
Hi there

I have just been given a death sentence and I am hoping that it may not be as bad as what I have been told.

Basically I sustained a disc injury to my low back while back squatting in July 04. I stopped training straight away hoping it would sort itself out.
After 1month of not really training, I was SO depressed as I hadn't been able to train but yet my back was no better. The thing is that I am an athletic performance coach and so was doing some type of movement showing my clients exercises but with VERY little weight.

By the way, I don't blame the squat as an exercise for my injury, I was feeling as though I was REALLY week in the squat so I wanted to make myself feel better by lifting some heavier iron but my ego and stupidity got the better of me and in the end it was more of a falling backward goodmorning.

Anyway I went to see a physiotherapist and a sports physician and it got a little better on a diet of no weight training and back stabilisation and anti-inflammatories.
But still EVERY morning I would wake up with low level pain in my LB and it still continues to this day(although now it is worse again).
I was evetually told I could get back into training but with very light loads - "YES!! THANK YOU" I shouted in my head. But it has gotten worse since resuming training with light weights about a month ago.