PDA

View Full Version : Sore knees

Jay Swan
01-29-2004, 02:24 PM
I'm pretty new to CF. When doing Wednesday's WOD (hang squat cleans + 400m) I ended up with pretty sore patellar tendons afterward. Pain was gone by the next morning. It's not the running (I'm a fairly serious distance runner), so it must be the Oly lifts.

Ideas on this?

Robert Wolf
01-29-2004, 02:48 PM
Jay-

If your knees are tracking beyond the toes at some point in the movement it can create quite a bit of shear force. I see fairly few people who can pull off a good front squat without a bit of flexibility/technique work.

I made my knees pretty sore last week demoing "bad form". I had not weight but did this for several classes and was really sore for several days. No more of that!
Robb

Ralph
01-29-2004, 03:10 PM
I experienced the same soreness when doing overhead squats for the first time. My knees were sore for about 2-3 days.

Kevin Anderson
03-17-2004, 12:37 PM
I think I am having the same issue. My knees are very sore and I just finished a very painful basketball game. I think it could be my olympic lift form as well as not warming up enough prior to the WOD. I doubt my knees are tracking past the toe because I physically can't do this on my left leg due to a bad injury I had repaired with surgery. What other specific form issues cause problems?

Kevin Anderson
03-17-2004, 12:40 PM
What about having an strength imbalance between the hamstring and quads?

Bobby Nauss
05-18-2004, 08:19 AM